Super Powers

I realize this is a subject that I have covered before, that being, “If you could have any super power, what would it be?”.  At the time I wished that I had the power to allow people to see the world as it was rather  than as they perceived.  Today I need a new super power.  Today I need D to be able to see inside my mind.

confused-c2e1e9d14491a9486d996da945debcc9d6ce7170-s800-c85

Ok maybe not everything.  But I do wish he could see some of my ideas.  We have a light that we purchased a year ago that needs to be hung in the kitchen.  Originally we had the idea (encouraged by the lady at the lighting store) that track lighting over our island would be a solution.  A year later, it isn’t the solution.

Those who know me, know I need a bit of whimsy in every room.  However, whimsy can not take over the room.  In this case, the lights are the whimsy.  The track lighting, in a 176year old house is just WRONG!

So here we are a year later.  The lights are still wrapped in their box, in the dining room.  I have imagined them suspended from driftwood, a weathered branch, a rake (yah that was just silly), a weathered post, a lobster trap (although really cool, the look on D’s face just now suggests that isn’t going to happen) and an apple orchard ladder.

When I suggest these ideas, he says, “Draw me a picture.”

I look back at him and say, “Seriously?  I can’t show you what’s going on in my head that can make any kind of sense to you.” But today he claims I have super powers.  They start in my eyes, go to my brain, run down my cheek to my neck and arm and poof in some kind of magic at my fingertips with the assistance of a magic pen make all things clear between my idea and his buying into it.

Like the rake….that’s just plain silly.  So the lights remain in the box, at least until I convince him the lobster trap is doable.

3 thoughts on “Super Powers

  1. Hey I am so happy I found your blog, I really
    found you by accident, while I was searching on Bing for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb job.

    Like

  2. We bought a house with track lighting in the kitchen and grew to hate it, the bulbs were always burning out and the ceiling high enough it was a pain to replace them and when it became time to replace them we could not find bulbs that would let us put the covers over the bulbs plus track lighting just has no character what so ever but if you had to have it….I think the drift wood idea would be great. As for a husband (or most men) having any idea what you see in your head when you are trying to explain what you are seeing …it does not happen ……been married 55 years…..I just say I will do it myself…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment